Lummis House Tour
Please note that there are no signups required for this tour.
El Alisal was the personal residence of Charles F. Lummis, who built it between 1896 and 1910 on the west bank of the Arroyo Seco in northeast Los Angeles. It takes its name from local sycamore trees, one of which is featured in the home’s interior courtyard. It was built using stones from the arroyo bed, concrete and wood.
Please join us for an informal staff-led tour of the from noon to 12:30pm. The house is open until 4pm that day, but those in the know are planning on attending the Behind the Scenes Tour of the Southwest Museum at 1pm, and will be planning on a prompt noon arrival here at El Alisal, so as to not be late for the rest of the day's adventures.
Charles F. Lummis, was one of the founders and builders of the Southwest Museum, and he donated his personal collection of Native Americans artifacts to the institution. A visit to Mr. Lummis' home provides excellent context for any visit to the Southwest Museum.
El Alisal was the center of most artistic and intellectual activity of early Los Angeles. At the turn of the century it was the meeting place for artists and visionaries of the time, and LAVA is delighted to pay a visit to this iconic space and celebrate the Visionaries of an earlier era.
Please note the two other events LAVA is hosting on this day in the Arroyo.